2011 Reading List

Click on the link to read the review 🙂  I have done more – this list will be updated… when I get the time 😦

12 – Beijing Coma by Ma Jian
11 – The Cement Garden by Ian McEwan
10 – An Open Swimmer by Tim Winton
9 – Snow Country by Yasunari Kawabata
8 – Solar by Ian McEwan
7 – The Three Clerks by Anthony Trollope
6 – The Silent Cry by Kenzaburo Oe
5 – The Art of the Engine Driver by Steven Carroll
4 – An Autobiography by Anthony Trollope
3 – Amerika by Franz Kafka
2 – The New York Trilogy by Paul Auster
1 – Hard-Boiled Wonderland and The End of the World by Haruki Murakami

6 thoughts on “2011 Reading List

  1. What an amazing reading list ! Let me know when you've read and reviewed Faulkner's 'The Sound and the Fury' please Tony, it's one of the most difficult but most rewarding novels I've ever read.

    Like

  2. Sadly, I probably won't. Unfortunately, I've had to limit myself in what I review this year, and 'The Sound and the Fury' is one of those which missed out 😦

    It is a fascinating book, more for how it's written than for what it is written about. It's the first time I've read it, so it was a constant struggle to understand exactly what was happening (to whom, when…), and Quentin didn't help…

    I think it's a book that needs a second reading anyway to really appreciate it 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi Tony,
    I'm a new visitor to your blog and I was browsing through some of this year's reviews. I would have liked to read your review for “The Woman in White” because it's a book I really enjoyed, but the page can't be displayed for some reason. The same goes for “Wuthering Heights”.
    I did, however, read your thoughts on “My Name is Red” and it only confirmed my suspicions. I have been going around in circles about giving Pamuk's books a try but I think I'm going to wait for the right book.
    Looking forward to your post on the best and worst books of this year.

    Like

  4. Thanks Delia 🙂 These reviews are available – unfortunately, I think I've got a problem where I've highlighted several posts with one hyperlink, but only the first one comes up (e.g. if you click on the reviews for Books 68 and 73, you'll find the two you're looking for). Thanks for letting me know 🙂

    Like

  5. I've read them now, thanks. I thought Fosco was the most intriguing character as well, it's nice to see your review echoed my thoughts. I couldn't help admire him, in spite of his evil ways.
    I have “The Moonstone” on my TBR list, that's a book to be read next year for sure.
    As for Wuthering Heights, I loved the book and the movie too.

    Like

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

