February Wrap-Up

You may (or may not) have noticed a silence around my computer activities over the last few weeks, and (sadly) that’s not coincidental.  Unfortunately, I am once again being forced to abandon my blog, hopefully temporarily , owing to my usual aches and pains.  For the time being, at least, this monthly wrap-up will probably be all he wrote, so I’ll do my best to be informative – and brief…


Total Books Read: 11
Year-to-date: 22

New: 9
Rereads: 2
From the Shelves: 3
From the Library: 3
On the Kindle: 5
Novels: 7
Novellas: 3
Plays & Short Stories: 1
Non-English Language: 4 (1 Japanese, 1 German, 1 Russian, 1 Chinese)
In Original Language: 1 (German)

Books read in February were:
1) Beijing Coma by Ma Jian
2) Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome
3) Plays and Petersburg Tales by Nikolai Gogol
4) Salem Chapel by Margaret Oliphant
5) Monkey Grip by Helen Garner
6) Rabbit, Run by John Updike
7) Thousand Cranes by Yasunari Kawabata
8) Siddhartha by Herman Hesse
9) An Artist of the Floating World by Kazuo Ishiguro
10) Three Men on the Bummel by Jerome K. Jerome
11) Sanctuary by Edith Wharton

Murakami Challenge: 0 (1/3)
Aussie Author Challenge: 1 (3/12)
Victorian Literature Challenge: 4 (6/15)


Tony’s Recommendation for February is:  Ma Jian’s Beijing Coma

I had Beijing Coma down as my February pick right from the start, but I did waver a little towards the end of the month.  Thousand Cranes was beautiful (but very short), and Siddhartha was intriguing (but also short).  However, it was Ishiguro’s An Artist of the Floating World, with its wonderfully unreliable narrator and a gradual, insidious slide into uncertainty and confusion which almost changed my mind.  In the end though, I decided that Ma Jian’s depiction of the events which took place around Tiananmen Square in 1989 was the winner by a nose!

That was February; I wonder what March will bring…

13 thoughts on “February Wrap-Up

  1. I'm sorry you don't feel well enough to keep your blog up to date, but this overview shows that you've been reading quite a bit, at least.

    That is a really nice selection of books I'd say – I haven't read any of them though!

    Hope the next month will be better for you!

    Like

  2. I hope you are feeling better. Aches and pains are not one that should be taken lightly, long hours in front of the computer at work really took a toll on my shoulders and neck, so do take care and come back when you feel better.

    You read some of the most intriguing books, some I didn't like it and some I love it and would be interested to know what you think. But you take care.

    Like

  3. I'm sorry you aren't feeling well. But still you get way more reading/posting done than I do when I'm under the weather.

    Always love hearing about what you're reading. Hope you feel better.

    Like

  4. Leeswammes – Less blogging = more reading – which is good in some ways…

    farmlanebooks – It's a great read and well worth the effort 🙂

    Interpolations – Chronic (low-level) back pain and recurring RSI. Not. Nice. 😦

    JoV – Thanks 🙂 I wish I had the strength to review them all. Alas, that is unlikely to happen…

    Bethany – One of my goals is to stop myself from posting when suffering. In the past, I've always thought I'd do just one more post…

    Violet – The Kindle has been in frequent action, especially over the past couple of weeks – free classics 🙂

    To all, thanks for the good wishes – here's hoping for a speedy resolution to various aches and pains.

    I'm not holding my breath though…

    Like

  5. At least you are enjoying your books:) I hope you get better soon, Tony. I've only read Siddhartha and the Ishiguro, both of which I liked although I'd probably need to re-read Siddhartha. But Beijing Coma seems to be a book I really should take a look at.

    Like

  6. Not too shabby of a list, Tony; I've been meaning to read John Updike's Rabbit books for ages. I hope things smooth out for you, here's wishing aches and pains good-bye.

    Like

  7. chasingbawa – Everyone seems to have it on their list (but very few have read it!). I'm going through Ishiguro this year, and I'll probably have read all of his work by the end of 2011.

    Belezza – This was my first Updike, and I'd like to read the next one, at least. Aches and pains still here, unfortunately, but here's hoping 🙂

    Like

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

