November 2011 Wrap-Up – German Literature Month

November (of course) has been dominated by German Literature Month, and this is reflected in my list for the month – not a word of English to be seen 🙂  I have thoroughly enjoyed my few weeks of Teutonic texts, but I’m also glad to have it behind me as I really need a break from the frequent posting it entailed 😉

It would be remiss of me to end the month without a shout-out to the wonderful organisers of the whole affair, Lizzy and Caroline.  I’m sure it was a nightmare keeping everything running smoothly, and it didn’t show at all: DANKE SCHÖN!!!   

Seriously though, it has been a wonderful opportunity to discuss German-language books, something that can be difficult (certain of my G-Lit posts in the past have generated exactly zero comments…).  I’ve also found a lot of new bloggers who read and review the same kind of books I do – a relief after the disaster that was BBAW…

I greatly enjoyed the two read-alongs, the first I’ve participated in, as it was refreshing to get to see so many different opinions on one book.  I was even inspired to watch a film version of one of the books – even if it was a rather old, staid adaptation 😉  You want more?  How about my three-part Kafka tribute play?  Or my first ever post in German?  Now that is one busy month!

I get the feeling you’re still expecting something else though…  Oh, alright, here are the numbers 🙂

*****
Total Books Read: 11

Year-to-date: 117
New: 11
Rereads: 0

From the Shelves: 6
From the Library: 0
On the Kindle: 5
Novels: 3
Novellas: 7
Short Stories: 1
Non-English Language: 11 (11 German)
In Original Language: 11 (11 German)

Books read in November were:
1) Das Schloß by Franz Kafka (Act One, Act Two, Act Three, Director’s Cut)

5) Effi Briest by Theodor Fontane (Part 1, Part 2, Part 3)
Aussie Author Challenge: 0 (19/12)
Victorian Literature Challenge: 3 (31/15)
Japanese Literature Challenge 5: 0 (6/1)


Tony’s Recommendation for November is: Stefan Zweig’s Schachnovelle

I had a good think about this one!  I thoroughly enjoyed the Gothic stylings of Die schwarze Spinne, and as an introduction to Stefan Zweig, Schachnovelle was a real pleasure.  However, I’m a big fan of Fontane’s work (and a big fan of novels over novellas), so his classic story of marriage and betrayal just about squeaks home as Klassenprimus this month.  But only just 🙂  Sorry, there’s been a recount.  After rereading Schachnovelle, I’ve decided that Zweig is the winner by a nose.  No correspondence will be entered into 😉

December?  Rest, a slow-down in posting, and a fair proportion of rereading old friends I suspect.  Mind you, I’ve said that before…

9 thoughts on “November 2011 Wrap-Up – German Literature Month

  1. I feel like writing a more personal wrap-up as well.
    You have been very prolific. The more we went into the month te less I was reading. I was reading blog posts instead. Now I'm back to reading whatever I like whenever I like and there is some serious Literature and War Readalong planning going on- Btw Coventry will very probabaly one of them (hint, hint, hint).
    So Schachnovelle won after all…
    I'm a novella fan to be honest.

    Like

  2. Good for you you enjoyed Zweig so much, he was a prolific writer? Is there anything better than to try a new writer, love the book and discover there are many others available?

    I'll keep on reading your reviews, so there's a chance that there won't be posts with 0 comment in the future. I like to leave at least a “Hello, I've read you review” comment any time I read something.

    Emma

    Like

  3. Caroline – I put a *lot* of effort into the month (probably a bit too much!). I do like the German novella, but I always go back to the meaty novels in the end. I do wish there were some more Fontanes around in 19th-C G-Lit 😉

    Emma – I'm sure I'll be reading a lot more Zweig in the future, especially as there's a lot out there 🙂 And thank you for your comments!

    Novroz – As Caroline said, there were lots of novellas this month (which makes it easier to rack up big numbers!).

    Like

  4. you did so much better than I did I just fizzled out had a lot of books read but then life got in way ,oh well now to debate whether just blog them now or save them til next year ,all the best stu

    Like

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

