July 2012 Wrap-Up

If you ever hear me whinging about how I don’t get all these review copies people are constantly talking about, give me a big slap.  July laid that bogey to rest with the month seeing me get through seven (!) books received from various publishers.  What was even better is that they were all good – making for some very tricky decisions this time around…

*****
Total Books Read: 12

Year-to-Date: 71

New: 11

Rereads: 1

From the Shelves: 3
Review Copies: 6

From the Library: 2
On the Kindle: 1 (1 Review Copy)

Novels: 7

Novellas: 2
Short Stories: 2
Non-Fiction: 1

Non-English Language: 10 (2 Spanish, 2 Icelandic, 2 Russian, German, French, Japanese, Finnish)
In Original Language: 2 (1 German, 1 French)

Murakami Challenge: 0 (0/3)

Aussie Author Challenge: 0 (5/12)
Australian Women Writers Challenge: 0 (5/10)

Japanese Literature Challenge 6: 1 (3/1) 

*****
Books read in July were:

Tony’s Turkey for July is: nothing

No turkeys for Christmas in July, I’m afraid.  This was a formidable reading month, and while a couple of the dozen were weaker than the others, that had everything to do with the competition and not the quality of the books themselves 🙂

Tony’s Recommendations for July are: Andrei Bely’s Petersburg
and Enrique Vila-Matas’ Dublinesque

Petersburg was the first book I read in July, and I immediately assumed that the top spot had already been secured. This feeling lasted about two days, that is until I started Dublinesque…  While many of the other books I read in July were fabulous, and may well have taken out the honours in a weaker month (take a bow Flowers of Grass, The Year of the Hare and, especially, The Blue Fox), it was a two-horse race from the start – and regular readers should know by now that we don’t like using technology to separate close finishes round these parts 😉

*****
I still have a few more review copies to read in August, but I am hoping to fit in a few more of my own books this month.  Of course, I may not be able to match July’s reading total – I seem to recall that there’s some big sporting thing happening that may well take up a bit of my time…

12 thoughts on “July 2012 Wrap-Up

  1. Finally, someone on an English language blog who's read Arto Paasilinna! I'm curious to know what you thought. I've read a handful of his books in French translation, one of which – La Foret des renards pendus – pushed all my buttons in just the right places. I liked Le Lievre de Vatanen – The Year of the Hare – very much, but I thought it didn't take the risks that some of his other novels do (I hope that's not the reason it's the one most easy to find in English). And Dubliners – it just can't be read often enough, can it?

    Like

  2. Seraillon – Well, my post will be out next week, so you'll find out then 😉 I liked it, and I suspect that there is a deeper significance to it than I was able to uncover. As I say in my post, I was actually put onto it by another blogger, one who is reading a book from every country in the world this year…

    And yes, 'Dubliners' is just wonderful 🙂

    Like

  3. You have a great month Tony. Dubliners sounds great. I feel obligatory to read Review copies most of the time. I am not sure if it is a good idea to say Yes sometimes, but the temptation is too great! Hope you have another awesome month in August.

    Like

  4. There seem to be more review copies at this time of year for some reason. I missed Dublinesque the first time around–sounds excellent, so it goes on this list.

    I ended up bombing out on Spanish literature month.

    Like

  5. Jo – Well, I'm still at the stage of begging for ARCs, so it's all my own fault 😉

    Gary – I liked it, a most enjoyable story. I'll be posting on it in a couple of weeks (I should have got to it a long time ago…).

    Guy – Definitely true in my case, but I think that's down to approaching the right people (although I still get ignored a fair bit…).

    Nothing for Spanish Lit Month? Well, I'm sure German Lit Month will be here before you know it, so you can make up for it then 😉

    Like

  6. Emma – Any Sjón would be a great choice 🙂

    Guy – That's true. Also, this year I've changed my strategy a little. Instead of chasing books, I've contacted certain publishers instead, trusting that they will find me good books. So far, I haven't been disappointed 🙂

    I did try Netgalley, but I don't find much there that I find interesting. Also, the first time I tried it I messed up, so I never managed to download the book 😦

    Like

  7. Tony: you might take another look. When they started out, they didn't have many books that fit my taste, but Penguin, NYRB, Melville, Other Press, Bloomsbury are there now. There are many titles exclusively for Aussie reviewers.

    I have a suspicion that this is ther wave of the future–e-galleys, that is. I won't read galleys on the computer, but the kindle is a wonderful tool.

    Like

  8. Guy – I have a feeling that you're right about this being the future (although it's not one I'm particularly looking forward to…).

    I've had another look, but there are two problems: one is that there really aren't that many publishers there that I'm interested in; the second is that those I am interested in have such off-putting criteria that I can't even be bothered to look at what's available 😦

    Like

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

