March 2013 Wrap-Up

March is coming to an end, and a busy month it’s been round these parts.  I’ve been frantically racing through the books on the IFFP longlist, hoping to get through the twelve I hadn’t previously read before the shortlist is announced.  I think I might just about make it – but it’ll be close 😉

Anyhow, all this means that the numbers are well up this month on my fairly slow start to the year – shall we?

*****
Total Books Read: 12

Year-to-Date: 26

New: 12

Rereads: 0

From the Shelves: 1
Review Copies: 3

From the Library: 8
On the Kindle: 0

Novels: 12
Novellas: 0

Short Stories: 0

Non-English Language: 12 (2 Arabic, 2 French, Spanish, Norwegian, Dutch, Turkish, Croatian, Afrikaans, Albanian, Italian)
In Original Language:1 (1 French)
Aussie Author Challenge: 0 (0/3)
IFFP 2013 Longlist: 11 (15/16)


*****
Books reviewed in March were:

Tony’s Turkey for March is: nothing

While HHhH didn’t really grab me, it was far from being a turkey – and that’s as close as it got this month 🙂

Tony’s Recommendation for March is:
Gerbrand Bakker’s The Detour

Bakker’s slight novel was easily my favourite of the five IFFP longlisted books, but the other books I posted on in March were all good too.  I was tempted to give the prize to Trollope’s magnus opus, and Khoury’s and Barbal’s books gave me pause for thought.  However, I couldn’t really go past The Detour, an excellent example of why we read these longlists – to discover great books and great authors 🙂


*****
A couple more from the IFFP and then the pace is off (thankfully).  Well, as far as the reading goes anyway – there’ll be plenty of IFFP reviews for you all to enjoy in April 🙂

11 thoughts on “March 2013 Wrap-Up

  1. Séamus – I was recently sent a copy of 'The Twin', so I'll be getting onto that when I have a spare minute. Evryone says it's good, so I'm looking forward to it 🙂

    Like

  2. Your reviews are well thought and composed. You read some very good books and I wouldn't want you to rush through your review. If it is not for review suppose you can read 20 books a month!

    Like

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

