Women in Translation Month – From September to July…

WITMonth15I’ve seen a few bloggers do this already for Women in Translation Month, so I thought I might as well follow their lead – here is my list of women in translation books read and reviewed between the end of last year’s event and the start of the current month.  A wide range of countries and writers are featured, and there are a even a couple of reviews from my assistant Emily too :)  Links, as always are to my reviews – the books in *bold *are my top recommendations…

*****
2014

I Called Him Necktie – Milena Michiko Flašar
I Live in Bongcheon-dong – Jo Kyung-ran
Family Heirlooms – Zulmira Ribeiro Tavares
Mr. Darwin’s Gardener by Kristina Carlson
*Near to the Wild Heart – Clarice Lispector*
Transit – Anna Seghers
*River of Fire – O Chong-hui*
Blumenberg – Sibylle Lewitscharoff
*Wayfarer – New Fiction by Korean Women*
Texas: The Great Theft
by Carmen Boullosa
The Bird – O Chong-hui
Manazuru – Hiromi Kawakami
*Masks – Fumiko Enchi*

*****
2015

*The Vegetarian – Han Kang*
N.P. – Banana Yoshimoto
*Troubling Love – Elena Ferrante*
*Highway with Green Apples & Nowhere to be Found – Bae Suah*
The Long Road – Kim In-suk
The Cat Who Came in off the Roof – Annie M.G. Schmidt
The Neck of the Giraffe – Judith Schalansky
*The Last Lover – Can Xue*
Tiger Milk – Stefanie de Velasco
*Sphinx – Anne Garréta*
The Fall of Language in the Age of English – Minae Mizumura
*Baboon – Naja Marie Aidt*
The Story of My Teeth – Valeria Luiselli
*Hollow Heart – Viola Di Grado*
*The Tale of Genji – Murasaki Shikibu (Part OnePart Two)*
Fuzz McFlops – Eva Furnari

*****
There you go – I’m sure this list will provide you with something new and interesting to read .  Enjoy😉

2 thoughts on “Women in Translation Month – From September to July…

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

