Women in Translation Month – Beyond the Reviews

WITMonth15Well, we’re almost at the end of Women in Translation Month, and here on the blog we’ve seen many reviews this time around (including one from my little assistant Emily!).  But that’s not quite all of the #WITMonth action, so I thought I’d just use today’s post to round up a few bits and bobs you might not have noticed.  One thing I can assure you in advance – it has been a very big month 😉

*****
Firstly, I’d like to point you in the direction of another couple of reviews I had published this month, this time outside the blog.  Over at Words Without Borders, the 1st of August saw the publication of my review of Naja Marie Aidt’s Rock, Paper, Scissors (translated by K.E. Semmel, review copy from Open Letter Books).  Having enjoyed Baboon, I was keen to have  a look at this one, and it certainly didn’t disappoint – for me, a much better book 🙂

The second stop is Shiny New Books, where you can read my take on Brazilian writer Tatiana Salem Levy’s The House in Smyrna (translated by Alison Entrekin, review copy from Scribe Publications).  This is a writer whose full-length work was appearing for the first time in English – hopefully more will appear at some point over the next couple of years…

Some of you may already have seen this one, but I also put up a post with links to reviews of all the WIT books I read between the end of last year’s event and the start of August this year.  From memory, there are about thirty books there to choose from, so I’m sure you’ll find something to your taste if you take the time to browse through 🙂

Of course, there are also the books I’ve been reading and not reviewing (because I already have reviews up on the blog).  Ideal for my train commute to work a couple of times a week, this month I’ve been sticking to rereads of women in translation.  First up was Yoko Ogawa’s The Housekeeper and the Professor (translated by Stephen Snyder), followed by Birgit Vanderbeke’s Ich sehe was, was du nicht siehst (I Spy, with My Little Eye).  Then I had another look at O Chong Hui’s River of Fire and Other Stories (tr. Bruce and Ju-Chan Fulton), finishing off my rereads with Kristín Ómarsdóttir’s Children in Reindeer Woods (tr. Lytton Smith).  I struggle to fit rereading in with all the new books I get, so this was a nice way to keep to the idea of #WITMonth while looking back at some great books.

That’s all for now, but there is a final review to round off the month, one last book to finish the event off with a bang.  It’s been a lot of work, but enjoyable nonetheless, and I hope others will benefit from my posts by discovering some new books and writers.  Let’s hope that it’s not just the readers and bloggers taking note; if publishers have been enjoying #WITMonth too, perhaps we might see more in the coming years…

2 thoughts on “Women in Translation Month – Beyond the Reviews

    1. Stu – Good to hear 🙂 I’ve been taking this month very seriously too – proof that there’s a lot of good stuff already out there if people take the time to look for it…

      Like

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

