November 2015 Wrap-Up

November was not the best of months, blogwise.  With lots of work to do, and a couple of 7dca7-img_3647minor illnesses thrown in, I found it difficult to focus too much on writing reviews.  I did my best to make the most of German Literature Month, but sadly I was only able to get nine reviews out this time around (although I did manage to schedule another excursion!).

Still, onwards and upwards – let’s see what happened last month in detail…

*****
Total Books Read: 12
Year-to-Date: 148

New: 11
Rereads: 1

From the Shelves: 4
Review Copies: 3
From the Library: 3
On the Kindle: 3 (1 review copy)

Novels: 10
Novellas: 1
Short Stories: 0
Non-Fiction: 1

Non-English Language: 11 (6 German, 2 Indonesian, 2 Spanish, Italian)
In Original Language: 6 (6 German)

 

*****
Books reviewed in November were:
Tony’s Turkey for November is: Nothing

While I wasn’t overly impressed by much of Yoko Tawada’s recent novel, the third part saved it from any turkey possibility – and that was as disappointing as it got this month…

 

Tony’s Recommendation for November is:
Christa Wolf’s Kassandra

I had a feeling from the moment I began reading it that Kassandra would be the one to beat this month, and while there were a few other contenders (Rilke for his complexity, Walser for his humour and Sebald for, well, being Sebald), Wolf was a clear winner in the race for November’s pick of the month🙂

*****
December will see me attempting to control my reading once more.  It’s time to slow down and enjoy the last month of the year – as the numbers show, there’s no need for me to try to get through many more books before the turn of the year…  There’s no snow in my neck of the woods, but I’m still looking forward to a relaxing festive season (and, yes, there will be a book or two involved!).  Let’s hope for a peaceful end to a busy year🙂

2 thoughts on “November 2015 Wrap-Up

  1. You call November a challenging month and then proceed to read 12 books – well done! And I really enjoyed your German Lit Month reviews. I’m possibly in a bit of a reading slump at the moment – or at least finding everything OK but not astounding – all 3-4 star reads, nothing to really lift me.

    Like

    1. Marina Sofia – The reading is never a problem, it’s just the reviewing and all that goes with it that sucks up my time. It’s a shame I can’t do January in Japan justice this year, but I simply can’t justify the time spent on blogging during my busiest work period of the year😦 2016 will be different, and I’m determined to be more disciplined in both the reading and reviewing – my current book is number 151 for the year…

      Liked by 1 person

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

