January 2016 Wrap-Up

The start of a new year is always an exciting time, a blank slate and an opportunity to change January 2015 Wrap-Upyour approach.  One example of this in January was (sadly) my minimalist approach to January in Japan, eschewing a big blogging event in favour of a weekly post (which will probably continue into February).  Even with my recent decision to actively limit the number of posts I wrote, though, there were still a good number of books read and reviews posted this month.  Let’s check them out🙂

*****
Total Books Read: 16
Year-to-Date: 16

New: 12
Rereads: 4

From the Shelves: 4
Review Copies: 9
From the Library: 2
On the Kindle: 1 (0 review copies)

Novels: 6
Novellas: 3
Short Stories: 3
Non-Fiction: 4

Non-English Language: 15 (6 Japanese, 5 Spanish, French, Italian, Afrikaans, Korean)
In Original Language: 1 (Spanish)

*****
Books Reviewed in January were:
1) The Old Garden by Hwang Sok-yong
2) Goodbye Tsugumi by Banana Yoshimoto
3) Your Face Tomorrow 2: Dance and Dream by Javier Marías
4) Reading the Tale of Genji by Thomas Harper and Haruo Shirane (eds.)
5) Meet at the Ark at Eight! by Ulrich Hub
6) The Swan Whisperer by Marlene Van Niekerk
7) Translator’s Blues by Franco Nasi
8) Ground Zero, Nagasaki by Yūichi Seirai
9) Cómo viajar sin ver (How to Travel Without Seeing) by Andrés Neuman
10) Death by Water by Kenzaburō Ōe

Tony’s Turkey for January is: Nothing

An excellent start to the new year, with a collection of entertaining, high-standard books🙂

Tony’s Recommendation for January is:
Kenzaburō Ōe’s Death by Water

It is January in Japan, of course, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise to see a Japanese book chosen, and I enjoyed all four of my J-Lit selections this month.  Marías was desperately unlucky to be overlooked (again…); perhaps he’ll have better luck next month when the final part of the trilogy is to be reviewed on the blog.  However, Ōe’s novel about a man thwarted in his ambition to write a late-career classic is, ironically, a late-career classic and a worthy recipient of my monthly award🙂

*****
February looks like being more of the same.  I’ll be continuing to cover some Japanese books in my Thursday posts, with an assorted selection of other stuff in between.  Let’s see what catches my eye next month🙂

6 thoughts on “January 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Hi Tony, I am glad to have discovered your blog.🙂

    Although I have been fond of J-literature, I haven’t read a lot. I should try more soon. Thank you for these recommendations.

    And, I am inspired to see that you re-read four books this month. My to-be-reread list keeps growing, but I am not creating time. Now that I see your blog, I am motivated more to meet my favourite books again. Many thanks.

    Like

    1. Deepika – Thanks for dropping by🙂 If you’re looking for J-Lit recommendations, you’re certainly in the right place…

      As for rereading, I recently made a decision to use my commuting time for rereads, so I’ve managed to revisit a lot of old favourites over the past year or so.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Stu – I assume so, and I hope it’s entered. I’ll be posting on Sunday regarding possible longlist books, and this is definitely on there🙂

      Like

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

