March 2016 Wrap-Up

March saw the Man Booker International Prize longlist announced, and having read six of Marchthe thirteen titles chosen, I was relieved to find that my Shadow Panel duties wouldn’t be quite as onerous as I’d feared.  Which is not to say, however, that I’ve been short of books to read – as always, I have more than enough to be getting on with, as you’ll see😉

*****
Total Books Read: 12
Year-to-Date: 45

New: 9
Rereads: 3

From the Shelves: 3
Review Copies: 6
From the Library: 2
On the Kindle: 2 (1 review copy)

Novels: 8
Novellas: 3
Short Stories: 0
Non-Fiction: 1

Non-English Language: 12 (3 French, 3 German, 2 Portuguese, Spanish, Finnish, Korean, Chinese)
In Original Language: 2 (2 German)

*****
Books Reviewed in March were:
1) Ok-hwa by Geum Hee
2) Old Man River by Lee Jang-wook
3) Time Difference by Baik Sou Linne
4) Homecoming by Cheon Myeong-kwan
5) Fired by Chang Kangmyoung
6) For Two Thousand Years by Mihail Sebastian
7) The Boy Who Stole Attila’s Horse by Iván Repila
8) A General Theory of Oblivion by José Eduardo Agualusa
9) Hopscotch by Julio Cortázar
10) A Cup of Rage by Raduan Nassar
11) The Moving Fortress by Hwang Sun-won
12) The Four Books by Yan Lianke
13) Mend the Living by Maylis de Kerangal

Tony’s Turkey for March is: Lee Jang-wook’s Old Man River

Just like last month’s choice, a little unfair perhaps, especially as it’s really just a short story – still, I’m trying to be stricter this year, so off to the turkey farm it goes😉

Tony’s Recommendation for March is:
Julio Cortázar’s Hopscotch

There were a couple of excellent MBIP reads this month, with de Kerangal and Yan Lianke standing out, and away from the prize scene, Iván Repila’s short allegorical tale was also a big hit.  Mihail Sebastian’s forgotten classic was a gem, but the choice for pick of the month was still a foregone conclusion.  Hopscotch is a true classic, and while some might struggle with Cortázar’s labyrinthine novel, it was easily worthy of being best in class this month🙂

*****
April will see more of the same.  I’m hoping to have all the MBIP longlist books reviewed before the shortlist selection (which would be a first for me!), leaving me with a little more time for all the other excellent books I have piling up on my shelves.  In particular, my Patrick Modiano pile is getting ever higher, so I’ll see if I can do something about that this month – wish me luck😉

4 thoughts on “March 2016 Wrap-Up

    1. Deepika – Three of the Man Booker longlist titles – two are linked above (the Agualusa and the Nassar). The other is ‘White Hunger’, which I reviewed a while back🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. At least with Modiano you’re only up for between 140 and 166 pages. We have just read (and reviewed) Little Jewel and Paris Nocturne, and I now have Dora Bruder and Missing Person in my pile.

    Like

    1. Gert – Not my favourite two (the ones you read)… His books may be short, but I do have about seven on the shelves, with the possibility of more on the way😉

      Like

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

