July 2016 Wrap-Up

July was, as predicted, rather chilly here in Melbourne, and as I had some time off work, it a409c-julywas the perfect month to do some serious reading.  Part of that was devoted to Spanish-Language Literature Month, and I managed to review five books for that event over the month (albeit with a very heavy bias towards Mexican literature…).  However, much of my reading energy went into preparing for August, about which more at the end of the post – first, the stats😉

*****
Total Books Read: 14
Year-to-Date: 107

New: 10
Rereads: 4

From the Shelves: 7
Review Copies: 7
From the Library: 0
On the Kindle: 3 (3 review copies)

Novels: 10
Novellas: 2
Short Stories: 1
Non-Fiction: 1

Non-English Language: 12
(4 Japanese, 2 Spanish, 2 Korean, Galician, Catalan, Hungarian, German )
In Original Language: 2 (German, Spanish)

*****
Books Reviewed in July were:
1) Beton (Concrete) by Thomas Bernhard
2) Umami by Laia Jufresa
3) God is Round by Juan Villoro
4) The Complete Guide to Contemporary World Fiction by M. A. Orthofer
5) Vicious by Xurxo Borrazás
6) Ten Nights Dreaming & The Cat’s Grave by Natsume Soseki
7) The Body Where I Was Born by Guadalupe Nettel
8) War and War by László Krasznahorkai
9) The Transmigration of Bodies by Yuri Herrera

Tony’s Turkey for July is: Nothing

A good month this time around with nary a bird to pluck😉

Tony’s Recommendation for July is:
László Krasznahorkai’s War and War

While there were several excellent works covered on the blog in July (including those by Bernhard, Natsume and Herrera), as well as Orthofer’s indispensable guide to fiction in translation, there was only ever going to be one winner.  War and War is not only my book of the month, but also a good chance of taking out the big prize at the end of the year – in fact, I’m already tipping it for the Man Booker International Prize next year🙂

*****
August, of course, is all about Women in Translation Month, and I’m already well underway with my reading (with all of my choices so far coming from my ideas post).  The first review will be out on Monday, and I’m aiming for ten posts over the course of the month, each with a little bonus at the end to whet your appetite further.  Intrigued?  Well, you know where to look come Monday🙂

4 thoughts on “July 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Impressive list of reads there for July, Tony…

    I’ve just been perusing my shelves today (kindle tomorrow) to make the pick-from-pile for #WITMonth … have to say after a year of acquiring titles & authors from those recommended last year I’m very spoilt for choice

    Really looking forward to your posts & yes, appetite whet and intrigued!

    Like

    1. Poppy – One of the things I’m not too keen on with #WITMonth is that several of my choices are on my Kindle – I’d much rather read real books😦

      Like

  2. You were not joking when you said you were spending time reading – i don’t think I have ever read that number of books in a month. Phew. And yes now I am intrigued with what Monday will bring

    Like

    1. Karen – To be honest, that’s pretty much my monthly average for 2016 thus far (admittedly, well above previous years). Probably time to slow down😉

      Like

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

