September 2016 Wrap-Up

September was a good month for reading, even if I used the opportunity to do a lot of 3763f-img_3572rereading in addition to making my way through my TBR piles.  The start of the month saw my annual visit to the Melbourne Writers Festival, and I even got the chance to meet up with translator extraordinaire Daniel Hahn a couple of weeks back – a good month by anyone’s standards🙂

As for the stats, well, feel free to have a look…

*****
Total Books Read: 17
Year-to-Date: 141

New: 12
Rereads: 5

From the Shelves: 5
Review Copies: 9
From the Library: 1
On the Kindle: 4 (2 review copies)

Novels: 11
Novellas: 0
Short Stories: 2
Non-Fiction: 2
Poetry: 1
Screenplay: 1

Non-English Language: 14
(6 Korean, 4 French, 2 Spanish, Icelandic, Japanese)
In Original Language: 0

*****
Books Reviewed in September were:
1) Affections by Rodrigo Hasbún
2) The Penalty Area by Alain Gillot
3) Fish Have No Feet by Jón Kalman Stefánsson
4) About My Mother by Tahar Ben Jelloun
5) An Elephantasy by María Elena Walsh
6) Lacombe Lucien by Louis Malle & Patrick Modiano
7) Pedigree by Patrick Modiano
8) After the Circus by Patrick Modiano
9) The Last Wolf & Herman by László Krasznahorkai
10) The Human Jungle by Cho Chongnae

Tony’s Turkey for September is: Nothing

No disasters this month, which is always a good thing🙂

Tony’s Recommendation for September is:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson’s Fish Have No Feet

While I had a whole week of Modiano reviews, none of the three works featured were quite good enough to contend for the monthly prize, and even though Tahar Ben Jelloun’s ode to his departed mother was impressive, it all came down to a two-way decision.  Would it be an excellent shorter work, or a slightly-flawed longer novel?  In the end, Iceland narrowly triumphed over Hungary, and I’d encourage anyone to read both to see if I was right😉

*****
October will be a busy month, not because there’s anything in particular going on, more owing to the event looming on the horizon.  Yes, Lizzy and Caroline have announced the latest German Literature Month extravaganza for November, and if I’m going to take part in my usual manner, I’ll need to get cracking on other obligations pronto.  I’ll leave you all to see yourselves out today – I’m too busy reading…

7 thoughts on “September 2016 Wrap-Up

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

