December 2016 Wrap-Up

December was a nice, relaxing month round these parts, with work wrapping up fairly early,6f548-img_3774 allowing me to spend some time with the family (and do some reading, of course…).  In fact, much of my time (when I wasn’t stuffing myself with food) was spent working on the multitude of posts that the end of the year seems to spawn, several of which you’ll already have seen, no doubt.

While I’m almost ready to wind up the year, we must first take care of December.  Here, then, is my last monthly wrap-up for 2016, with the final total showing that it’s been another big year on the list 😉

*****
Total Books Read: 14
Year-to-Date: 180

New: 11
Rereads: 3

From the Shelves: 4
Review Copies: 10
From the Library: 0
On the Kindle: 1 (1 review copy)

Novels: 8
Novellas: 0
Short Stories: 4
Non-Fiction: 2

Non-English Language: 13
(4 Korean, 3 Italian, 3 French, Japanese, Dutch, German)
In Original Language: 1 (German)

*****
Books Reviewed in December were:
1) Convalescence by Han Kang
2) Time in Gray by Bae Suah
3) To Begin at the Beginning by Javier Marías
4) The Story Smuggler by Georgi Gospodinov
5) Moshi Moshi by Banana Yoshimoto
6) The Spirits of the Earth by Catherine Colomb
7) Frantumaglia by Elena Ferrante
8) The Lost Daughter by Elena Ferrante
9) The Beach at Night by Elena Ferrante
10) Christmas at Thompson Hall & Other Christmas Stories by Anthony Trollope
11) Kwon Sun-chan and Nice People by Lee Ki-ho
12) Where Do You Want to Go? by Kim Ae-ran

Tony’s Turkey for December is: Nothing

A nice collection of books this month, and with six turkeys already plucked this year, there’s no need to add more to the larder 🙂

Tony’s Recommendation for December is:
Catherine Colomb’s The Spirits of the Earth

There were several contenders this month, with Ferrante’s triple pack especially entertaining.  However, with half the books reviewed this month being fairly brief, I went for something a little longer and more complex, and Colomb’s mesmerising post-modern family drama certainly fits the bill.  This wasn’t a book I’d heard of before I received a request to review it – I’m certainly glad I did 🙂

*****
And that’s just about it for 2016 – except, of course for my annual awards!  Look out tomorrow for my traditional New Year’s Day post, in which I explore the year in more depth while rewarding the good and punishing the bad (translations).  Do join me 🙂

2 thoughts on “December 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Wow I am impressed with how much you read. Well done. My December in review post will come out in the New Year – a bit messy but I find fitting everything in to the end of December very difficult. Glad you’re December was relaxing- mine has been too.

    Like

    1. Ali – Well, there are a lot of short books in that total, but they all count 😉

      Yes, a nice relaxing month, if only there weren’t all these EOY posts to write!

      Like

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

