January 2017 Wrap-Up

January… the stJanuary 2015 Wrap-Upart of another year of blogging (my ninth!), and as you’ll see below, I started it as I ended the old one – with lots of books.  Before we get to that, though, I thought I might just help out those people who go into digital hibernation (or, in Australia, estivation…) every year around Christmas time by showing you what I’ve been up to over the past month or so, aside from reviews.  Like the look of any of these?

(The Rest of) the Best of 2016
The Best (Newish) Books of 2016
The 2016 Tony’s Reading List Awards
Your Favourite Posts of 2016 (and 2015)
2016, the Year that Was (the Grumpy Version)
2016, the Year that was (the Happy Version)

And that’s not all – earlier this week I also published a series of posts intended to help people take their first steps into enjoying K-Lit, my Korean Literature for Beginners series:

Korean Literature for Beginners – Part One (12 to 7)
Korean Literature for Beginners – Part Two (6 to 1)
Korean Literature for Beginners – Part Three (The Road Less Travelled)

Right – the housekeeping is out of the way.  Let’s get back to what the first reading month of 2017 brought along  😉

*****
Total Books Read: 11
Year-to-Date: 11

New: 7
Rereads: 4

From the Shelves: 9
Review Copies: 2
From the Library: 0
On the Kindle: 1 (1 review copy)

Novels: 7
Novellas: 0
Short Stories: 3
Non-Fiction: 1

Non-English Language: 9
(3 Japanese, 3 Korean, 2 Spanish, German)
In Original Language: 2 (Spanish, German)

*****
Books Reviewed in January were:
1) As I Crossed a Bridge of Dreams by Lady Sarashina
2) The Square by Choi In-hun
3) The Evenings by Gerard Reve
4) Recitation by Bae Suah
5) Wildwitch: Oblivion by Lene Kaaberbøl
6) The Tower of London by Natsume Sōseki
7) Brothers by David Clerson
8) La vida en las ventanas (Life in Windows) by Andrés Neuman
9) The Last of Hanak’o by Ch’oe Yun
10) Christmas Specials by Kim Ae-ran

Tony’s Turkey for January is: Nothing

I wasn’t overly enamoured with Choi In-hun’s story of the Korean dilemma, but if that’s as bad as it gets, then I think we’ll save the turkey choosing for another month 🙂

Tony’s Recommendation for January is:
Bae Suah’s Recitation

It was certainly a great start to the year, with several books in contention this month.  Gerard Reve’s lost (to English speakers…) Dutch classic was up there, as was David Clerson’s wonderful short mythical tale, and most readers know that I have a soft spot for Andrés Neuman and his cheery novels.  However, when forced to pick one (as I am, frequently, if only by my own conscience), I had to go for Recitation, a wonderful book that can only enhance Bae’s reputation.

*****
February promises to be a month of relaxing reading and reviewing, but I will have one eye on the future.  You see, March is a very special time of year for those of us with a passion for fiction in translation, and I’m already anticipating the fun ahead.  But let’s not get ahead of ourselves – plenty of books to get to before that 😉

2 thoughts on “January 2017 Wrap-Up

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

