July 2017 Wrap-Up

July has been a fairly chilly month, and (thanks to some time off work) I’ve spent a fair amount of it sitting back and reading.  However, fewer reviews than you’d expect have come out of that, mainly because I’ve found the time to reacquaint myself with some friends.  That might change soon as I have a few plans for the weeks ahead – but let’s not get ahead of ourselves…

…there’s the usual bookkeeping to get through before we look to next month’s reading 😉

*****
Total Books Read: 14
Year-to-Date: 75

New: 9
Rereads: 5

From the Shelves: 7
Review Copies: 4
From the Library: 3
On the Kindle: 0 (0 review copies)

Novels: 10
Novellas: 0
Short Stories: 4
Non-Fiction: 0

Non-English Language: 14
(3 Spanish, 2 Japanese, 2 Korean, 2 Italian, 2 French, 2 German, Arabic)
In Original Language: 5 (2 German, French, Spanish, German-from-Italian)

*****
Books Reviewed in July were:
1) The President’s Gardens by Muhsin Al-Ramli
2) Beasts Head For Home by Kōbō Abe
3) Autopsy of a Father by Pascale Kramer
4) The Accusation by Bandi
5) Ties by Domenico Starnone
6) Sunset: A Ch’ae Manshik Reader, Bruce and Ju-Chan Fulton (eds.)
7) La Prisonnière (The Prisoner) by Marcel Proust
8) ME by Tomoyuki Hoshino
9) The Man of Feeling by Javier Marías

Tony’s Turkey for July is: Nothing

Not all of this month’s choices were wonderful, but there certainly wasn’t anything out of place – another turkey-free month…

Tony’s Recommendation for July is:
Marcel Proust’s La Prisonnière

This was a fairly even month for the most part, but while I enjoyed all of my July reading, the latest dose of Proust’s extended diaries was easily the stand-out experience.  Perhaps a special mention should go here to Tomoyuki Hoshino, as ME was a fascinating, enthralling novel, and one I’d definitely recommend (late update: I slipped in a last-minute read, and Marías was very close to changing my mind!).

*****
August, as is the case every year, brings a month of reviews of female-written works, as we celebrate Women in Translation Month once more.  I’ve been scouring the shelves, and the library database, for possible choices, and I’ve calculated that I should be able to come up with about ten reviews this time around.  But what will I be reading?  Well, this year I’ve decided to keep it a secret, so you’ll have to come back tomorrow to see where my journey takes me first.  See you then 😉

2 thoughts on “July 2017 Wrap-Up

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

