IBP 2022 Round Up – Reviews One & Two

After introducing this year’s Shadow Panel, making some random guesses in the guise of ‘predictions’ and then seeing some of those actually come off in the longlist announcement, I’m almost ready to settle down to reading and reviewing the contenders for this year’s International Booker Prize, a collection of books our judges are cautiously optimistic about.  Before setting off in earnest, though (backpack and sleeping bag at the ready), there’s a little housekeeping to attend to.  You see, of the thirteen books selected this year, I’ve actually already tried five, meaning my round-the-world trip won’t be quite as arduous as is often the case.

Nevertheless, those five books also deserve some attention, so in two posts this week, I’ll be looking back at them and rating their chances of making it to the next stage of the prize (links, as ever, are to my reviews).  Later this week, I’ll be in Asia and South America, but today’s retrospective sees me heading to Europe to reflect on two books many readers expected to see make this list – and perhaps go even further…

*****
A New Name: Septology VI-VII by Jon Fosse –
Fitzcarraldo Editions, translated by Damion Searls
What’s it all about?
A New Name is the third part of Norwegian writer Fosse’s story in seven sections (keep up at the back there) following the ageing painter Asle as he shuffles around preparing for a Christmas getaway, while mentally dwelling decades in the past.  As was the case with The Other Name and I is Another, the voice switches frequently from past to present, often mid-sentence, meaning it’s often less a stream of consciousness than a raging torrent the reader is tossed about in.  And yet, this story of a man reflecting on his past and coming to terms with what’s in his future can also be a surprisingly gentle, relaxing read, with the repetition of words and themes lulling the reader ever closer to the end of the story.

Does it deserve to make the shortlist?
This was one of my favourite books of last year, and it was near the top of my prediction list for the prize, so yes, absolutely.  The whole trilogy/septology is a work that I’d recommend to anyone interested in quality fiction, and I’m looking forward to trying more of Fosse’s work in the years to come.

Will it make the shortlist?
Nope, which may sound surprising given my comments above!  The reason is that you really need to have read the first two books to appreciate A New Name fully, which means the judges will find it hard to push this as the best book of the year.  I was actually a little surprised that it made the longlist, and I suspect that having brought the series to the attention of a wider audience, the judges will be happy to leave it aside and select books that can be enjoyed without reference to the rest of the series.

*****
The Books of Jacob by Olga Tokarczuk –
Fitzcarraldo Editions, translated by Jennifer Croft
What’s it all about?
In eighteenth-century Europe, where the world was a smaller place, and communication was rather sluggish, to say the least, an enigmatic character sets himself up as the man to save European Jewry, proclaiming that the true way forward involves being baptised into Christianity and creating a new world from there.  Over nine-hundred pages or so, we follow the trials and adventures of the larger-than-life Jacob Frank, following him on his travels across the continent in an epic novel with a massive cast (reminiscent of a classic Russian novel).  However, Jacob is the undisputed star of the show, and the beauty of the novel is the portrait it paints of the main man, a hero with feet of clay if ever there was one, but also a leader charismatic enough to make thousand of people believe that by following his instructions, the Kingdom may truly come, and sooner than expected.

Does it deserve to make the shortlist?
If I’m honest, I don’t think this will make my top six.  I’m a huge fan of Tokarczuk’s work, and I’m certainly not saying this is a weak book.  However, even if it is well constructed and meticulously researched, there’s no denying that it can be a bit of a slog at times, and I’m not sure there’s really enough payback to reward the reader who does follow Jacob along his path.  I’m far from the only one out there comparing the novel unfavourably with some of the writer’s other work, so for me, this is as far as it should go.

Will it make the shortlist?
The cynic in me, seeing two hefty tomes on the longlist, speculates that there’ll only be room for one (at most) on the shortlist, and given that Tokarczuk has had quite enough praise and recognition over the past few years, if the judges do decide to pick one of them for a third read, I suspect that it won’t be The Books of Jacob

*****
Well, the journey has begun, and next time around, we’ll be making brief stops in Japan, Argentina and South Korea, where we’ll be meeting a variety of colourful characters, not all of whom (or of which…) you’d want to meet in a dark alleyway.  Do any of these books have what it takes to make the shortlist?  There’s only one way to find out, so come back soon for more IBP musings 🙂

2 thoughts on “IBP 2022 Round Up – Reviews One & Two

  1. Interesting! Two Fitzcarraldos who might not make it any further. I take your point about the Fosse – if there are earlier books, it’s hard to award a prize to a later one which doesn’t stand alone. As for Jacob, I suspect I will actually give this a miss. I loved Flights and Drive Your Plow, but I’m not sure the time commitment would be worth it here…

    Like

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.