August 2016 Wrap-Up – Women in Translation Month

August was all about about Women in Translation Month (well, when I was able to dragb6d83-august myself away from the Olympics coverage, that is…), and I eventually managed to struggle my way to ten reviews, in addition to a summary of some of the rereading I did for the event.  Of course, in addition to the review itself, each of my posts had a #WITMonth Bonus Shot at the end, offering many more suggestions to interested readers.  An easy way to get an overview of my month is by clicking on my #WITMonth 2016 tag, which will take you to a page with all the posts I put up this month.  But was there some quality in the quantity of books I read?  Let’s find out😉

*****
Total Books Read: 17
Year-to-Date: 124

New: 7
Rereads: 10

From the Shelves: 11
Review Copies: 6
From the Library: 0
On the Kindle: 0 (0 review copies)

Novels: 10
Novellas: 2
Short Stories: 3
Non-Fiction: 1
Poetry: 1

Non-English Language: 17
(5 French, 3 German, 2 Korean, 2 Japanese, 2 Icelandic, Italian, Hungarian, Spanish)
In Original Language: 6 (3 German, 2 French, Italian)

*****
Books Reviewed in August were:
1) The Nakano Thrift Shop by Hiromi Kawkami
2) Wörterbuch (The Book of Words) by Jenny Erpenbeck
3) Death in Spring by Mercè Rodoreda
4) Como agua para chocolate (Like Water for Chocolate) by Laura Esquivel
5) Rina by Kang Young-sook
6) Le Père de la petite (His Father’s Daughter) by Marie Sizun
7) Yo-yo by Steinunn Sigurðardóttir
8) In altre parole (In Other Words) by Jhumpa Lahiri
9) Wildwitch: Wildfire by Lene Kaaberbøl
10) Are You an Echo? The Lost Poetry of Misuzu Kaneko, David Jacobson

Tony’s Turkey for August is:
Kang Young-sook’s Rina

I wasn’t overly impressed by the Esquivel book, but I sensed that it wasn’t really written with a reader like me in mind – Rina, however, really should have been my kind of book.  As it never really grabbed me, into cold storage it goes😉

Tony’s Recommendation for August is:
Mercè Rodoreda’s Death in Spring

Several contenders this month, with Sizun and Erpenbeck among the unlucky runners-up.  Rodoreda’s fantastical (and slightly disturbing) novel was the pick of the bunch for August, though, another excellent find from an excellent writer🙂

*****
I say this far too often, but September will (hopefully) be a nice relaxing month spent catching up on books I have lying about on the shelves.  With the Olympics over, I should have a bit more time for reading, and reviewing – watch out for some more great books featured over the coming weeks…

3 thoughts on “August 2016 Wrap-Up – Women in Translation Month

Every comment left on my blog helps a fairy find its wings, so please be generous - do it for the fairies.

